Author Topic: game wont start at all  (Read 1094 times)

Offline Ethan

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15,850
  • cookies: 229
  • (V)(;,,;)(V)
  • IG name: Ethan.
game wont start at all
« on: February 04, 2015, 17:52 »
OK, since my video card failed on me I am back to onboard graphics. Nothing else besides this has changed since I haven't played SA for a couple days while I was trying to figure out the issue with that. when I open the client and click connect, it will show it loading and then do something as if it was refreshing, like a  window flash, and nothing works. my external hard drives were disconnected while trouble shooting my card issue but they have been reconnected. I dont know what the problem might even be,
anyone got a clue?

Offline nyolc8

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,897
  • cookies: 180
  • Hungarian Transporter
  • IG name: nyolc8
Re: game wont start at all
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2015, 00:00 »
My fixes for similar(or same) problem:
go to gta_sa.exe properties, and then compatibility mode options and check "reduced colors"(16bit), and check "disable display scaling on high dpi settings". Then delete gta_sa.set (from documents folder). If still doesn't work, then start gta_sa.exe instead of samp for a single time.

Don't mind the reduced colors option, it won't actually reduce the colors in the game. You will still have 32bit with that option enabled.

Offline Ethan

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15,850
  • cookies: 229
  • (V)(;,,;)(V)
  • IG name: Ethan.
Re: game wont start at all
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2015, 02:31 »
I dont have the "reduced colors"(16bit) option, and I ran it three times, just the exe and its still doing the same thing.. I even set it to run as administrator, and no change

Offline Kake

  • Development Team
  • Respected Trucker
  • *****
  • Posts: 232
  • cookies: 10
  • .............
  • IG name: Kakeshi.
Re: game wont start at all
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2015, 02:54 »
I dont have the "reduced colors"(16bit) option, and I ran it three times, just the exe and its still doing the same thing.. I even set it to run as administrator, and no change
my one showing those options of nyolc8's

Offline TheSandman

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10,371
  • cookies: 184
  • トヨタ自動車株式会社
  • IG name: TheSandman
Re: game wont start at all
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2015, 03:54 »
You guys are using windows 8, ethan is using 7. We don't have that option.
25/8/11 - 4/10/15: 1502 days of CT staff duty.
LAST SEEN
TOTAL TIME ON SERVER
SCORE
TRUCK LOADS
CONVOY SCORE
ACHIEVEMENTS
ARTIC
DUMPER
VAN
FUEL
CEMENT
ARRESTS
CARS STOLEN
COACH
PLANE
HELICOPTER
TOW TRUCK
LIMO
TRASH
ARMORED VAN
BURGLARIES
ARMORED VANS STOLEN
MISSIONS FAILED
OVERLOADED
FINES PAID
TOTAL SPENT ON FUEL
INTEREST EARNED
DISTANCE TRAVELLED
TIME IN JAIL
LAST MISSION

Offline Kake

  • Development Team
  • Respected Trucker
  • *****
  • Posts: 232
  • cookies: 10
  • .............
  • IG name: Kakeshi.
Re: game wont start at all
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2015, 08:15 »
My fixes for similar(or same) problem:
go to gta_sa.exe properties, and then compatibility mode options and check "reduced colors"(16bit), and check "disable display scaling on high dpi settings". Then delete gta_sa.set (from documents folder). If still doesn't work, then start gta_sa.exe instead of samp for a single time.

Don't mind the reduced colors option, it won't actually reduce the colors in the game. You will still have 32bit with that option enabled.

I don't know what nyolc8 trying to do there :P but if u want the 16-bit option in windows 7 u can get it like this :
Screen Resolution -> Advanced Settings -> Monitor -> u get a option at the bottom to change it from 16 to 32 bit and vice versa (but i think this makes ur whole pc run under 16-bit whereas in nyolc8's method ...it just changed settings of that program)  :-\

Offline nyolc8

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,897
  • cookies: 180
  • Hungarian Transporter
  • IG name: nyolc8
Re: game wont start at all
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2015, 11:33 »
Ethan: did you try to remove gta_sa.set file?

Kakeshi: for me, starting gtasa in 16bit compatiblity mode, somehow altered the display properties or something like that and that got it to start again. With that option, the color depth didn't actually changed at all in the game. The method you described would change the colors to extra sh*t :D

Offline Ethan

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15,850
  • cookies: 229
  • (V)(;,,;)(V)
  • IG name: Ethan.
Re: game wont start at all
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2015, 20:27 »
removed gta.set, tried to connect, got:
[15:23:21] {FFFFFF}SA-MP {B9C9BF}0.3z {FFFFFF}Started
[15:23:24] Connecting to 37.187.67.236:7777...
[15:23:30] The server didn't respond. Retrying..
[15:23:30] Connecting to 37.187.67.236:7777...
[15:23:37] The server didn't respond. Retrying..
[15:23:37] Connecting to 37.187.67.236:7777...
[15:23:43] The server didn't respond. Retrying..
[15:23:43] Connecting to 37.187.67.236:7777...
/q here
« Last Edit: February 05, 2015, 20:39 by Ethan »

Offline Dobby

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,679
  • cookies: 120
  • No longer active.
Re: game wont start at all
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2015, 20:31 »
Thats not CT. Ask at that server why you can't connect.

Edit:

That server has stupidly upgraded to 0.3.7. Thats why you can't connect.
I have left SA:MP behind.

Offline Ethan

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15,850
  • cookies: 229
  • (V)(;,,;)(V)
  • IG name: Ethan.
Re: game wont start at all
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2015, 20:39 »
I hit wrong server when trying before, my bad

Offline Ethan

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15,850
  • cookies: 229
  • (V)(;,,;)(V)
  • IG name: Ethan.
Re: game wont start at all
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2015, 20:53 »
it was my gta.set... but now everything is fucked and when I just tried, I cant even walk. topic locked seeing as how I am in an unplayable state now without any decent FPS, nor my keyboard wont work.