Convoy Trucking

Hyde Park => Grand Theft Auto V => Topic started by: CarlJohnson on July 07, 2017, 07:24

Title: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: CarlJohnson on July 07, 2017, 07:24
Hi, I recently bought GTA V on steam and tried it on my laptop but for some reason I get fps drop / game stutters while driving, I get over 60 fps all together when the game isn't getting fps drops.
My specs are:
Cpu: Core i5-7200U (2+2) @ 3.1 GHz
Gpu: Nvidia 940MX 2GB GDDR5
Ram: 4 GB DDR4
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: CarlJohnson on July 07, 2017, 12:25
I believe ram is the issue here

(http://i.imgur.com/VbyRimq.png)

If that's the case, should I go ahead and order this: http://www.amazon.in/Corsair-Memory-Module-2133MHz-Unbuffered/dp/B0143UM5YQ?tag=googinhydr18418-21&tag=googinkenshoo-21&ascsubtag=49e76d8b-6c6f-4f6b-9e32-f00c55be9e66
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Nado on July 07, 2017, 14:49
yes believe me the ram is the issue, I had this problem when I had only 4gb for BF4, bought another 4gb stick, and it fixed my problem
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Savitar on July 07, 2017, 15:17
Yes, you have only 4gb of ram, recommended setting is 8 gb of ram :))
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: CarlJohnson on July 07, 2017, 17:50
I read I shouldn't mix and match rams and buy them in pair, can I buy if they have same voltage and speed?
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Nado on July 07, 2017, 18:22
I read I shouldn't mix and match rams and buy them in pair, can I buy if they have same voltage and speed?
if they have the same "mhz" they will work in pair, that's the only requirement to work in dual channel, and I think modern mobos accepts different rams size to work in dual channel
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Hobo on July 07, 2017, 20:56
Yes, you need more RAM. Check if there's a free slot in your laptop. Then buy RAM that matches the speed and voltage of what you already have. 
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: CarlJohnson on July 08, 2017, 02:33
Yes, you need more RAM. Check if there's a free slot in your laptop. Then buy RAM that matches the speed and voltage of what you already have.
Luckily my laptop has an extra slot, I'll go ahead and buy an extra 4GB stick and see how it work out.
Is this good? http://www.amazon.in/Corsair-Memory-Module-2133MHz-Unbuffered/dp/B0143UM5YQ?tag=googinhydr18418-21&tag=googinkenshoo-21&ascsubtag=49e76d8b-6c6f-4f6b-9e32-f00c55be9e66
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Shock on July 08, 2017, 19:45
they should have the same speed and timings carl brand dosent really matter unelss its a generic one
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: CarlJohnson on July 09, 2017, 03:33
I read about it some more and talked to Shane, turns out I need to match the speed and CL otherwise it'll run on speed of the slower one or on the latency of the slower one.

I have DDR4 @ 2400 MHz with CL = 17 SODIMM  at 1.2V

This seems to be perfect choice for me: http://www.amazon.in/Kingston-Technology-ValueRAM-2400Mhz-KVR24S17S8/dp/B01LW6HBSM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1499486761&sr=8-2&keywords=ddr4-2400+sodimm

4GB costs 4k INR while 8GB costs 5.2K INR (so much for prices :like:) so I'd go with 8GB one, also incase my old ram doesn't work with the new one I could just plug in the 8GB one and sell the old one.
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Ethan on July 09, 2017, 16:34
also incase my old ram doesn't work with the new one I could just plug in the 8GB one and sell the old one.

never mix old ram and new RAM if its different speed, clock, cache etc..
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Nado on July 09, 2017, 18:03
also incase my old ram doesn't work with the new one I could just plug in the 8GB one and sell the old one.

never mix old ram and new RAM if its different speed, clock, cache etc..
mate you can do dual channel with 8gb and 4gb but they have to be the same clock, new mobos accepts it...
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Ethan on July 09, 2017, 20:51
never mix old ram and new RAM if its different speed, clock, cache etc..
did you read?
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Emily on July 09, 2017, 23:23
never mix old ram and new RAM if its different speed, clock, cache etc..
did you read?

mate you can do dual channel with 8gb and 4gb but they have to be the same clock, new mobos accepts it...

did you?
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Ethan on July 10, 2017, 02:26
I wrote dont mix old and new with different speed, clock.
never mix old ram and new RAM if its different speed, clock, cache etc..

nado wrote he can get 8gb and 4gb but must be same speed...
mate you can do dual channel with 8gb and 4gb but they have to be the same clock, new mobos accepts it...

EXACT SAME FUCKING THING!!!!!!!!
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: CarlJohnson on July 10, 2017, 02:45
also incase my old ram doesn't work with the new one I could just plug in the 8GB one and sell the old one.

never mix old ram and new RAM if its different speed, clock, cache etc..
I read about it some more and talked to Shane, turns out I need to match the speed and CL otherwise it'll run on speed of the slower one or on the latency of the slower one.

I have DDR4 @ 2400 MHz with CL = 17 SODIMM  at 1.2V

Anyway, this is what I found: http://www.amazon.in/Kingston-Technology-ValueRAM-2400Mhz-KVR24S17S8/dp/B01LW6HBSM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1499486761&sr=8-2&keywords=ddr4-2400+sodimm
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Ethan on July 10, 2017, 20:28
hope it works @Carl
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Hobo on July 11, 2017, 04:10
I wrote dont mix old and new with different speed, clock.
never mix old ram and new RAM if its different speed, clock, cache etc..

nado wrote he can get 8gb and 4gb but must be same speed...
mate you can do dual channel with 8gb and 4gb but they have to be the same clock, new mobos accepts it...

EXACT SAME FUCKING THING!!!!!!!!
yo, calm yo self. :ccmas:
Title: Re: Fps drop / Stuttering
Post by: Savitar on July 11, 2017, 05:05
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/90/2d/eb/902debcaf2f23368b452b1ec8ec92b2b.jpg)